About the Contributors

C. Thomas Caskey is president and CEO of Cogene Biotech Ventures Ltd., a venture capital fund that supports early-stage biotechnology companies. He serves on several national research review panels, including the Intramural Human Genome Projects Special Review Committee at the National Institutes of Health, and on the editorial boards of the *Journal of the American Medical Association* and *Science*.

Michael R. Darby is Warren C. Cordner Professor of Money and Financial Markets at the University of California at Los Angeles. He is also director of UCLA's John M. Olin Center for Public Policy, chairman of The Dumbarton Group, a research associate with the National Bureau of Economic Research, and adjunct scholar with the American Enterprise Institute.

John V. Duca is a vice president and senior economist at the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, where he heads and conducts research in financial-side macroeconomics.

Rebecca S. Eisenberg is Robert and Barbara Luciano Professor of Law at the University of Michigan. Eisenberg, who teaches patent law, trademark law, and torts, is on the advisory committee to the director of the National Institutes of Health and on the Panel on Science, Technology, and Law at the National Academies.

Malcolm Gillis is president and Ervin Kenneth Zingler Professor of Economics at Rice University. He is on the National Academy of Sciences Board on Sustainable Development and a board member of the National Council for Science and the Environment, Houston Advanced Research Center, and Houston Technology Center.

x About the Contributors

Henry G. Grabowski is professor of economics and director of the Program in Pharmaceuticals and Health Economics at Duke University. He has acted as an adviser and consultant to the National Academy of Sciences, Institute of Medicine, Federal Trade Commission, Office of Technology Assessment, and General Accounting Office.

Timothy F. Howe is founding partner of Collinson, Howe & Lennox, a venture capital firm that provides management and advisory services to four closed-end investment pools representing more than \$100 million in committed capital. He is also adjunct professor in the School of Business at Columbia University.

Michael S. Lawlor is a professor in the economics department and a research associate in the Social Science Section of the Department of Public Health Sciences at Wake Forest University. He also directs the interdisciplinary minor in health policy and administration. Lawlor is a financial economist and economic historian who specializes in the economic behavior of health organizations and the social influences on market behavior.

Frank R. Lichtenberg is Courtney C. Brown Professor of Business at Columbia University. He is also a research associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research. His research has examined how the introduction of new technology arising from research and development affects the productivity of companies, industries, and nations.

Dennis K. Stone is vice president for technology development at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. He is also a professor of internal medicine, physiology, and biochemistry and holder of the NCH Corporation Chair in Molecular Transport. Stone was a Searle Scholar and has received the Established Investigator Award of the American Heart Association.

Mine K. Yücel is a vice president and senior economist at the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, where she heads and conducts regional economic research.

Lynne G. Zucker is professor of sociology and policy studies at the University of California at Los Angeles. She is also director of the Organizational Research Program at the Institute for Social Science Research and director of UCLA's Center for International Science, Technology, and Cultural Policy.