Skip to content

Conversation with the Chairman

A Teacher Town Hall Meeting

February 06, 2019 Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

Educators are invited to Federal Reserve Chairman Jerome Powell’s first town hall for teachers. Please join us for a livestreamed watch party on the evening of February 6, 2019.

When

  • Wednesday, February 6, 2019 at 6-7 p.m. CT (Dallas, Houston, San Antonio), and 5-6 p.m. MT (El Paso).

Where

  • Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, 2200 N. Pearl St., Dallas, TX 75201. Directions
  • Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, Houston Branch, 1801 Allen Pkwy., Houston, TX 77019. Directions
  • Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, San Antonio Branch, 402 Dwyer Ave., San Antonio, TX 78204. Directions
  • Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, El Paso Branch, 301 E. Main Street, El Paso, TX 79901. Directions

Registration

  • Register for this event: Dallas, El Paso, Houston, San Antonio
  • Registration is required by January 31, 2019. Please note there is no fee. However, seating is limited and registrations will be accepted on a first-come basis.
  • For those who cannot attend in person, the conversation will be livestreamed from 6-7 p.m. CT and 5-6 p.m. MT at www.federalreserve.gov.

Agenda

February 6, 2019

4:30 p.m. CT/
3:30 p.m. MT

Registration and Reception

5:45 p.m. CT/
4:45 p.m. MT

Welcome
Dallas Fed Representative

6:00 p.m. CT/
5:00 p.m. MT

Conversation with the Chairman

 

Jerome H. Powell
Chairman
Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System

After opening remarks, Chairman Powell will answer questions from audiences across the country.

7:00 p.m. CT/
6:00 p.m. MT

Audience Q&A, Closing Remarks
Dallas Fed Representative

About Jerome H. Powell

Powell began a four-year term as chairman of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System on February 5, 2018. Powell also serves as chairman of the Federal Open Market Committee, the Federal Reserve System's principal monetary policy making body.

Powell has served as a member of the Board of Governors since taking office on May 25, 2012, to fill an unexpired term. He was reappointed and sworn in on June 16, 2014, for a term ending January 31, 2028.

Prior to his appointment to the Board, Powell was a visiting scholar at the Bipartisan Policy Center in Washington, D.C. From 1997 through 2005, he was a partner at The Carlyle Group.

Powell served as an assistant secretary and undersecretary of the Treasury under President George H.W. Bush, with responsibility for policy on financial institutions, the Treasury debt market and related areas. Prior to joining the administration, he worked as a lawyer and investment banker in New York City.

In addition to serving on corporate boards, Powell has served on the boards of educational and charitable institutions, including the Bendheim Center for Finance at Princeton University and The Nature Conservancy.

Powell received an AB in politics from Princeton University in 1975 and earned a law degree from Georgetown University in 1979.

For event and registration questions, contact Economic Education at dal.econed@dal.frb.org.