Globalization & Monetary Policy Institute

Advisory Board


John B. Tayloroff-site is Mary and Robert Raymond Professor of Economics at Stanford University. He is a globally recognized expert on international monetary and financial issues and has produced extensive research on monetary policy, fiscal policy and international economic policy.

He is recognized throughout the economics profession and within monetary policy circles as the originator of the Taylor rule, a guiding principle for macroeconomic stabilization followed by many central banks. Taylor also serves as senior fellow at the Hoover Institution and Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research, was founding director of the Stanford Introductory Economics Center and a research associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Taylor has many years of distinguished service with the U.S. government, most recently as undersecretary of Treasury for international affairs from 2001to 2005. He was a member of the president's Council of Economic Advisers from 1989 to 1991. He received a B.A. in economics from Princeton University and a Ph.D. in economics from Stanford University.


  • Charles R. Beanoff-site
    Deputy Governor, Bank of England, 2008–14
  • Martin Feldsteinoff-site
    George F. Baker Professor of Economics, Harvard University and President Emeritus, National Bureau of Economic Research
  • Heng Swee Keat
    Minister for Education, Parliament of Singapore
    Managing Director, Monetary Authority of Singapore, 2005–11
  • R. Glenn Hubbardoff-site
    Dean and Russell L. Carson Professor of Finance and Economics, Graduate School of Business, Columbia University
    Chairman, Council of Economic Advisers, 2001–03
  • Otmar Issingoff-site
    President, Center for Financial Studies (Germany)
    Executive Board Member, European Central Bank, 1998–2006
    Managing Director, International Monetary Fund, 2000–04
  • Horst Kohler
    President of the Federal Republic of Germany, 2004–10
  • Finn Kydlandoff-site
    Jeff Henley Professor of Economics, University of California, Santa Barbara
    Recipient, 2004 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences
  • Guillermo Ortiz
    Governor, Banco de México, 1998–2009
  • Kenneth S. Rogoffoff-site
    Thomas D. Cabot Professor of Public Policy, Harvard University
  • Masaaki Shirakawa
    Governor of the Bank of Japan, 2008–13
    Professor, Kyoto University School of Government, 2006–08
  • William Whiteoff-site
    Head of the Monetary and Economic Department
    Bank for International Settlements, 1995–2008




Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas Seal
Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

2200 N. Pearl St., Dallas, Texas 75201 | 214.922.6000 or 800.333.4460
Disclaimer / Privacy Policy