Skip to content

For immediate release: November 5, 2008

Dallas Fed Establishes Pilot Bank Advisory Council

DALLAS—The Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas today announced the establishment of a pilot Bank Advisory Council at its San Antonio Branch to enhance communication and feedback with area financial institutions.

The pilot program will build upon outreach efforts by the Dallas Fed and its branches to area financial institutions.

The Council—composed of nine bankers—is a pilot program aimed at providing Dallas Fed officials grassroots information from area bankers on a variety of topics, including banking and economic conditions, regulatory issues and Federal Reserve services.

During its first year, the Council will meet quarterly and brief the San Antonio Branch board.

“We believe that broadening the channels of communication between the Reserve Bank and bank executives is important to our financial industry and to the communities we mutually serve,” said Richard W. Fisher, president and CEO of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas.

Charter members of the Council are:

Byron K. Bexley
Chairman & CEO, TexStar National Bank
Universal City, Texas

Robert B. Dunkin, Sr.
Chairman & CEO, First Community Bank, N.A.
Harlingen, Texas

Robert Gandy, III
President & CEO, First National Bank
Edinburg, Texas

Donald R. Grobowsky
Chairman & CEO, First State Bank Central Texas
Temple, Texas

Al B. Jones
President & CEO, American Bank, N.A.
Corpus Christi, Texas

Douglas Macdonald
President & CEO, Texas Community Bank, N.A.
Laredo, Texas

Joe C. McKinney
Vice Chairman, Broadway National Bank
San Antonio, Texas

Bobbie McMillan
President & CEO, The Commercial Bank
Mason, Texas

David A. Ortiz
President & CEO, Uvalde National Bank
Uvalde, Texas

For more information about the Dallas Fed, visit


Media contact:
James Hoard
Phone: (214) 922-5307