2012 News Releases

For Immediate Release: February 27, 2012


DALLAS—The Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas has named Karl T. Murphy of El Paso a member of its Community Depository Institutions Advisory Council.

The council is composed of 12 representatives from financial institutions of various sizes in Texas, northern Louisiana and southern New Mexico.

The council provides senior Dallas Fed officials grassroots information on a variety of topics, including economic and banking conditions, regulatory policies and payments issues.

Murphy is president and CEO of FirstLight Federal Credit Union in El Paso, where he has worked for 27 years.

He is also president of the Fort Bliss FCU Credit Union Service Organization and director for the board for El Paso Credit Union Affordable Housing CUSO, which provides affordable housing and financial literacy programs in El Paso County.

Murphy also previously served as chairman of the R. C. Morgan Chapter of Credit Unions and the board of managers for the El Paso Armed Services YMCA, and treasurer for the Hispanic Chamber of Commerce Education Foundation.

He holds a bachelor's degree in accounting from Brigham Young University and an MBA from the University of Phoenix.


Media Contact: Alexander Johnson
Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
Phone: (214) 922-5288
e-mail: alexander.johnson@dal.frb.org


Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas Seal
Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

2200 N. Pearl St., Dallas, Texas 75201 | 214.922.6000 or 800.333.4460
Disclaimer / Privacy Policy