Skip to main content

Harris and Richter elected leaders f Dallas Fed's San Antonio Branch board

For immediate release: February 17, 2004

The board of directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas' San Antonio Branch has re-elected Ron R. Harris as chairman for 2004. Elizabeth Chu Richter was named chairman pro tem.

Harris was appointed to the San Antonio Branch board in 1999 by the Federal Reserve Board of Governors and served as chairman in 2002 and 2003.

He is a co-founder and general partner of Southwest Capital Partners, an Austin-based private equity firm. He served as president and chief executive officer at Pervasive Software from its inception until July 2002 and as chairman until December 2003.

Before starting Pervasive Software, Harris was instrumental in the start of Citrix Systems of Fort Lauderdale, Fla. At Citrix, he served as product group vice president, in charge of engineering, marketing and customer service.

In 1998, Ernst and Young named Harris Austin Entrepreneur of the Year in an event co-sponsored by Nasdaq and USA Today. He also has served on the boards of several technology companies such as Exterprise prior to its acquisition by Commerce One, Journee Software and AG-Tech Corp. in Nagoya, Japan.

He is a member of the advisory board for the University of Texas at Austin Graduate School of Business, chairman of the nonprofit organization New Start, and a board member of City School in Austin.

Harris earned a bachelor of science in computer science from Vanderbilt University and a master of business administration from the University of Texas at Austin.

Richter was appointed to the San Antonio Branch board in 2003 by the Federal Reserve Board of Governors. She is chairman and chief executive officer of Richter Architects, based in Corpus Christi. Richter also is creator and executive producer of “The Shape of Texas,” a statewide radio series on architecture. In 2002, she was named “Newsmaker of the Year” by the Corpus Christi Caller-Times.

Richter is treasurer of the Texas Society of Architects and a member of the American Institute of Architects. She also serves on Corpus Christi's Planning Commission and as a board member of Citizens for Educational Excellence. Previously, she served as chairman of the South Texas Public Broadcasting System.

A graduate of the University of Texas at Austin, she holds a bachelor of architecture degree.

The San Antonio Branch board of directors consists of seven members, four appointed by the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas board of directors and three by the Federal Reserve Board of Governors.


Media contact:
James Hoard
Phone: (214) 922-5307