Skip to main content

Flores appointed to board of Dallas Fed's El Paso Branch

For immediate release: March 17, 2004

The Federal Reserve Board of Governors has appointed William V. Flores to the board of directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas’ El Paso Branch. His three-year term will end Dec. 31, 2006.

Flores is interim president, provost and chief academic officer of New Mexico State University. He was named provost and chief academic officer in August 2001 and began serving as interim president in July 2003.

“I am honored by the appointment and excited by the opportunity to serve on the Branch board,” he said.

Before coming to New Mexico State, Flores was dean of the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences and professor of political science at California State University, Northridge, and associate dean of the School of Social Sciences at California State, Fresno.

He has held academic positions at several colleges and universities, including Hunter College, Stanford University and Santa Clara University.

Flores serves on the boards of Arrowhead Research Park, Physical Science Institute, Arrowhead Center for Business Development, National Hispanic Cultural Center and Las Cruces Forum. He also has participated in Leadership New Mexico and is a member of the Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities, National Association of State Universities and Land Grant Colleges, and Council of University Presidents of New Mexico.

A native of San Diego, Flores received a bachelor’s degree in political science from the University of California at Los Angeles and a master’s and Ph.D. from Stanford. He received a certificate of proficiency from the Instituto de Cultura y Lengua in Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico.

The El Paso Branch board of directors consists of seven members, four appointed by the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas board of directors and three by the Federal Reserve Board of Governors.


Media contact:
James Hoard
Phone: (214) 922-5307