Skip to main content

Hackett reappointed to Dallas Fed's Houston Branch board

For immediate release: January 13, 2005

DALLAS—The Federal Reserve Board of Governors has re-appointed James T. Hackett to the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas' Houston Branch board of directors. He will serve a three-year term ending Dec. 31, 2007.

Hackett was appointed to the board in 2003 to serve an unexpired term.

He is president and chief executive officer of Anadarko Petroleum Corp., an independent oil and gas exploration and production company.

Before joining Anadarko, Hackett was president and chief operating officer of Devon Energy Corp. following its merger with Ocean Energy, where he had served as chairman, president and CEO. Ocean Energy was a product of a merger in 1999 with Seagull Energy Corp., where Hackett also was chairman, president and CEO.

Hackett joined Seagull from Duke Energy, where he led its Energy Services Division as president. Prior to that, he was executive vice president of Pan Energy when the company merged with Duke Power to create Duke Energy. His energy experience includes positions in engineering, finance and marketing with NGC Corp., Burlington Resources and Amoco Oil Co.

Additionally, Hackett is chairman of the Domestic Petroleum Council, an executive committee member of the American Petroleum Institute and a member of the Society of Petroleum Engineers. He is a director of Kaiser Aluminum Corp., Temple-Inland Inc. and Fluor Corp. He also serves as chairman of the Houston Grand Opera and is a board member of Baylor College of Medicine.

He has a bachelor of science degree from the University of Illinois and a master of business administration from Harvard University.

The Houston Branch board of directors consists of seven members, four appointed by the Dallas Fed board of directors and three by the Federal Reserve Board of Governors.

For more information on the Dallas Fed, visit


Media contact:
James Hoard
Phone: (214) 922-5307