Skip to main content

Hackett appointed to Dallas Fed board

For immediate release: February 7, 2006

DALLAS—The Federal Reserve Board of Governors has appointed James T. Hackett of Houston to the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas board of directors. He will serve a three-year term ending Dec. 31, 2008.

He previously served on the Dallas Fed’s Houston Branch board.

Hackett is chairman, president and CEO of Andarko Petroleum Corporation of Houston.

Before joining Anadarko, Hackett was president and chief operating officer of Devon Energy Corp. following its merger with Ocean Energy, where he had served as chairman, president and CEO. Ocean Energy was a product of a merger in 1999 with Seagull Energy Corp., where Hackett also was chairman, president and CEO.

Additionally, Hackett is former chairman of the Domestic Petroleum Council, an executive committee member of the American Petroleum Institute and a member of the Society of Petroleum Engineers. He is a director Temple-Inland Inc. and Fluor Corp. He also serves as a board member of Baylor College of Medicine and the National Humanities Center.

He holds a bachelor of science degree from the University of Illinois and a master of business administration degree from Harvard University.

Each Federal Reserve Bank has a nine-member board of directors. Three members represent commercial banks, three represent the public and three are appointed by the Board of Governors in Washington, D.C.

For more information on the Dallas Fed, visit


Media contact:
James Hoard
Phone: (214) 922-5307