Skip to content

In Memoriam: Robert H. Boykin former president and CEO of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

Robert H. Boykin, former president and CEO of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas (1981–91) passed away on June 27, 2012.

As president, Boykin led the Bank and the Texas banking industry through the banking crisis in the late 1980s. Many participants in the events of that time have commented on the strong leadership he provided, his practical solutions and his direct approach. Boykin was also responsible for developing plans and obtaining approval for the new building currently occupied by the Dallas Fed.

Born in Carlsbad, New Mexico, in 1926, Robert Boykin spent his early years in West Texas. Mr. Boykin joined the U.S. Naval Air Corps in 1943 with the goal of becoming a fighter pilot. After leaving the military in 1947, he attended the University of Texas, where he received B.B.A and J.D degrees. He was also a graduate of the School of Banking of the South at Louisiana State University.

He joined the Dallas Fed in 1953 as a legal assistant and was promoted to assistant general counsel in 1959. In his nearly 40 years with the Bank, he served in various official capacities—assistant secretary of the board, secretary of the board, assistant vice president, vice president, senior vice president, and first vice president from December 1976 until 1981. He was appointed president of the Bank in 1981. He held that position until he retired on January 31, 1991.

Mr. Boykin served in numerous roles on behalf of the Federal Reserve System, including secretary of the Conference of Presidents of the Federal Reserve Banks from 1963 to 64, chairman of the Conference of First Vice Presidents in 1980 and chairman of the Conference of Presidents in 1985.

Boykin also served as a member of the Advisory Council for the School of Management and Administration at the University of Texas at Dallas and as an advisory member of the Dallas Citizens Council. He was a member of the Texas Bar Association and chairman of the Corporate Counsel Section of the Dallas Bar Association.