Skip to main content
News Releases

Greg Armstrong of Houston named chair of Dallas Fed board; Mary Kipp of El Paso named deputy chair

For Immediate Release: January 14, 2019

DALLAS—The Federal Reserve Board of Governors has appointed Greg L. Armstrong as chair and Mary E. Kipp as deputy chair of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas board of directors for 2019.

Armstrong is chairman of Houston-based Plains All American Pipeline LP. He previously served as chairman and CEO of the company. 

He was appointed to the Dallas Fed board in 2015 and reappointed in 2019 for a three-year term. He served as deputy chair of the board in 2018. 

Armstrong is a member of National Oilwell Varco Inc.’s board of directors, the advisory board of Cox School’s Maguire Energy Institute at Southern Methodist University, National Petroleum Council and board of trustees of The Foundation for The Council on Recovery.

Kipp is president and CEO of El Paso Electric Co., a regional electric utility.

She joined El Paso Electric in 2007 and has overseen many divisions of the company, including legal and compliance, regulatory and rates, human resources, external affairs, public relations, and environmental, health and safety.

She was appointed to the Dallas Fed board in 2018 and previously served on the Bank’s El Paso Branch board from 2016 to 2018.

She serves on the board of Landis+Gyr and on the executive committee of the Texas Business Leadership Council. She also is chair of the Borderplex Alliance and chair-elect of the Smart Electric Power Alliance.

Each Federal Reserve Bank has a nine-member board of directors. Three members represent commercial banks, three represent the public and three are appointed by the Board of Governors in Washington, D.C.

For more information on the Dallas Fed, visit


Media contact:
James Hoard
Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
Phone: (214) 922-5307