Skip to main content
News Releases

Dallas Fed reappoints William Serrata to El Paso Branch board

For Immediate Release: January 18, 2019

DALLAS—The Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas has reappointed El Paso County Community College president William Serrata to its El Paso Branch board of directors. 

He will serve a full three-year term ending Dec. 31, 2021. He joined the board in June 2018 to fill the remaining term of a vacated seat.

As a board member, Serrata provides input on regional economic conditions as part of the Federal Reserve’s monetary policy functions.

Serrata has served as president of the El Paso County Community College District since August 2012. He previously served as vice president for student affairs and enrollment management at South Texas College in McAllen.

Serrata serves on the boards of Workforce Solutions Borderplex, Greater El Paso Chamber of Commerce, United Way of El Paso and Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, and is former chair of the Hospitals of Providence East Campus.

He also is a member of the executive committee of the Texas Association of Community Colleges, and serves as chair of the Student Success Committee and Texas Success Center Advisory Committee. 

Serrata is chair of the Directors of Excelencia in Education, and serves on the advisory board of the Higher Education Research and Development Institute and the executive committee of the American Association of Community Colleges board. 

Serrata holds a bachelor’s degree from Texas A&M University, master’s degree from University of Texas at Brownsville and Ph.D. from Texas A&M.

The El Paso Branch board consists of seven members, four appointed by the Dallas Fed and three appointed by the Federal Reserve Board of Governors in Washington, D.C.

For more information on the Dallas Fed, visit


Media contact:
James Hoard
Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
Phone: (214) 922-5307