Skip to main content
News Releases

Texas State President Denise Trauth appointed to Dallas Fed's San Antonio Branch board

For Immediate Release: January 27, 2020

DALLAS—The Federal Reserve Board of Governors in Washington, D.C., has appointed Denise M. Trauth of San Marcos to the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas’ San Antonio Branch Board of Directors. She will serve a three-year term ending Dec. 31, 2022.

In her role as a board member, Trauth will provide input on regional economic conditions as part of the Federal Reserve's monetary policy functions.

Trauth is president of Texas State University. Before joining Texas State in 2002, Trauth was provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.

She serves on the Southwest Research Institute Board of Trustees, is a member of the Philosophical Society of Texas, and is a member and former president of the Austin Area Research Organization. She also serves on the NCAA Board of Governors and is NCAA Division I Board of Directors vice chair.

She is past president of both the Sun Belt Conference Board of Directors and Greater San Marcos Partnership.

Trauth has served on the American Council on Education’s Commission on Women in Higher Education and serves as the presidential sponsor of that organization’s Texas Network for Texas Women in Higher Education.

She earned a bachelor’s degree in English at the College of Mount St. Joseph, master’s degree in journalism at The Ohio State University and Ph.D. in mass communications at the University of Iowa.

The San Antonio Branch board consists of seven members, four appointed by the Dallas Fed board and three by the Federal Reserve Board of Governors in Washington, D.C.

For more information on the Dallas Fed, visit


Media contact:
James Hoard
Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
Phone: (214) 922-5307