Skip to main content
News Releases

Dallas Fed’s Houston Branch elects leaders for 2023

February 6, 2023

DALLAS—The board of directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas' Houston Branch has elected Ruth Simmons as chair and Cynthia Colbert as chair pro tem for 2023.

Simmons joined the Houston Branch board in 2020.

She is president of Prairie View A&M University. Previously, she was president and professor of comparative literature and Africana studies at Brown University from 2001 to 2012.

Colbert joined the Houston Branch board in 2022.

She is president and CEO of Catholic Charities Archdiocese of Galveston-Houston, overseeing assistance to individuals in southeast Texas by providing food, clothing, shelter and support services.

The Houston Branch board consists of seven members, four appointed by the Dallas Fed board and three by the Federal Reserve System Board of Governors in Washington, D.C.

For more information on the Dallas Fed, visit


Media contact:
James Hoard
Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
Phone: 214-922-5307