Skip to main content

Statements by Dallas Fed Board Chair Ray Hunt and President Richard W. Fisher

Subject: The American Assembly's Announcement that Mr. Fisher Will Receive the Dwight D. Eisenhower Medal for Service to Democracy

For immediate release: April 18, 2006

DALLAS—Ray Hunt, chairman of the board of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, issued the following statement:

"As chairman of the board of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, I am pleased that Richard W. Fisher, president and CEO of the Bank, is the 2006 recipient of the American Assembly's Service to Democracy Award. This distinction brings honor to the Bank, and on behalf of the board and the boards of directors of our branches in Houston, San Antonio and El Paso, we heartily congratulate Richard on this distinction."

Richard W. Fisher, president and CEO of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, is in Argentina on Federal Reserve business and issued the following statement:

"The American Assembly's decision to award me the Dwight D. Eisenhower Medal is overwhelming. I have always considered President Eisenhower to be among the greatest of American leaders. To receive a medal in his name, following in the footsteps of far more deserving recipients like George H.W. Bush, Jimmy Carter, Colin Powell, Sandra Day O'Connor, Richard Lugar and the giant of central bankers, Paul Volcker, is truly a great honor.

“I have been proud to be involved with the Assembly’s Next Generation Project, which examines global threats and challenges faced by the United States in the 21st century and the institutional responses required to meet those challenges. This project will engage the next generation of successful women and men responsible for ensuring the security and prosperity of the United States and the world in the years to come.

"I am delighted that the American Assembly has graciously agreed to award me this medal in Dallas at the James M. Collins Building at Southern Methodist University. Jim Collins was a distinguished congressman, but more importantly, he was my father-in-law, my best friend and mentor. By receiving the Eisenhower Medal in the building named in his honor, I feel I am sharing it with Jim. I am especially pleased the Assembly has agreed to hold the inaugural meetings of the Next Generation Project at SMU’s Collins Center."

Announcement by The American Assembly


Media contact:
James Hoard
Phone: (214) 922-5307