Skip to content

For Immediate Release: February 25, 2008

Bates Reelected Chairman of Dallas Fed's San Antonio Branch Board

DALLAS—The board of directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas' San Antonio Branch has reelected J. Dan Bates of San Antonio as chairman for 2008.

Bates was appointed to the San Antonio Branch board in 2005 by the Federal Reserve System Board of Governors. He served as chairman pro tem in 2005 and 2006 and chairman in 2007.

He is president and chief executive officer of Southwest Research Institute. Bates also serves as chairman of the board of Signature Science LLC and Southwest Automotive Research Center.

The San Antonio Branch board consists of seven members, four appointed by the Dallas Fed board and three by the Federal Reserve System Board of Governors in Washington, D.C.

For more information on the Dallas Fed, visit


Media contact:
James Hoard
Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
Phone: (214) 922-5307