Skip to main content
Research Events

2nd CEMLA/Dallas Fed Financial Stability Workshop

Dallas Fed

The Center for Latin American Monetary Studies (CEMLA) and the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas invite submissions to their 2nd Financial Stability Workshop, to be held from Nov. 30 to Dec. 1, 2023, in Dallas. We invite theoretical and empirical submissions focusing on the interplay between financial intermediation, banking and financial stability, on topics including:

  • Interactions between monetary policy, inflation dynamics and financial stability.
  • Financial fragility through cross-border spillovers.
  • Liquidity risks and short-term funding markets.
  • Build-up of financial risks in housing and real estate markets.
  • The role of financial digitalization and CBDCs for financial stability.
  • The adoption and impact of macroprudential policies.
  • Banking competition and financial stability.

We especially encourage submissions on financial stability challenges in Latin America and the Caribbean. The Latin American Journal of Central Banking (LAJCB) will sponsor a special session dedicated to discussing outstanding research relevant for the region. LAJCB also offers a special submission track for authors of papers presented at the workshop that are interested in publishing their work with the journal. Authors should signal their interest on this possibility in their submission e-mail.

The authors will be informed of the final acceptance by Oct. 1, 2023. Participants are expected to cover their travel expenses; sponsors will cover accommodations for invited participants.


  • Nov. 30–Dec. 1, 2023


  • Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
    2200 N. Pearl St.
    Dallas, TX 75201


Please submit papers to: using the subject line “Submission – FSW”. In response to requests to extend the workshop's submission deadline, the deadline of Sept. 1, 2023, has been extended over the U.S. Labor Day weekend until Sept. 4, 2023.

Opening remarks

  • Sam Schulhofer-Wohl, Senior Vice President and Senior Advisor to the President, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

Keynote speaker

  • Atif Mian, John H. Laporte, Jr. Class of 1967 Professor of Economics, Princeton University

Scientific committee

  • Jose Aurazo, Bank for International Settlements
  • Nathan Balke, Southern Methodist University
  • Sofia Bauducco, Banco Central de Chile
  • Susanto Basu, Boston College
  • Christoph Bertsch, Sveriges Riksbank
  • Ricardo Correa, Federal Reserve Board
  • Jon Frost, Bank for International Settlements
  • Lu Han, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Deniz Igan, Bank for International Settlements
  • Gabriel Jiménez, Banco de España
  • Peter Karlström, CEMLA
  • Haoyang Liu, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
  • Elena Loutskina, Darden School of Business Administration
  • Galo Nuño, Banco de España
  • Efthymios Pavlidis, Lancaster University
  • Claudio Raddatz, Universidad de Chile
  • Kasper Roszbach, Norges Bank, University of Groningen
  • Cesar Sosa-Padilla, University of Notre Dame, NBER
  • Sasha Steffen, Frankfurt School of Finance & Management
  • Martín Tobal, Banco de México
  • Lena Tonzer, OvGU University Magdeburg and Halle Institute for Economic Research (IWH)
  • Wolf Wagner, Rotterdam School of Management, CEPR
  • Xiaoqing Zhou, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

Organizing committee

For More Information

Contact Enrique Martínez-García at